SCCM/MDT 2012 BUG: Deploying Windows XP Fails with Default Task Sequence Settings

At my company we are undergoing a migration from SCCM 2007 to SCCM 2012.  During this transition period I decided to take the opportunity to revamp our OSD Task Sequences to leverage more of the MDT components than we had previously done. I started this off by leveraging the new MDT templates of SCCM 2012 SP1 with MDT 2012 Update 1 integrated.

Now I know what you are saying, “XP, time to get rid of that dinosaur!”.  I know, I know but I still have to support it for a little while longer as I’m sure many of you do as well.  Ok, enough of the back story, on to the problem and resolution!

Problem: OSD cannot find the specified target to lay down the XP/2003 Image.

Cause: This is due to the default conditions on the Format and Partition Disk 5.x step in the MDT Task Sequence.  The default conditions are as follows:

clip_image001

Unfortunately with these conditions, it will never evaluate to true because it needs ALL conditions to be met in order for the step to run. 

Solution:

Therefore, we need to tweak the condition logic a bit like so:

clip_image001[4]

There, that’s better.  By moving the ImageOSVer conditions under an “If Any” rule, we can let this step run if we are deploying XP OR 2003 Server (since we can’t deploy both at the same time).

Hopefully this information will help those of you out there that still need to support XP/2003 for a while longer.

Author: dhedges

I'm a Senior Client Systems Engineer specializing in OS Deployments and Automation using VBScript, PowerShell, MDT and SCCM. I enjoy working with technology and bending it to my will.

Leave a Reply

