SCCM/MDT 2012 BUG: Deploying Windows XP via USB Fails

Problem: When deploying Windows XP/2003 using the default SCCM 2012 SP1 Task Sequence with MDT 2012 Update 1 Integration, you receive the following error when first booting into the full OS:

"Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem. Could not read the selected boot disk. Check boot path and disk hardware. Please check the Windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your reference manuals for additional information."

I ran into this issue in my SCCM 2012 environment because I currently don’t have PXE boot enabled (don’t want to interfere with our production 2007 environment).  Therefore I’m using a boot USB drive for all images while I build and test.

Explanation: So as not to steal Microsoft’s thunder, I’ll just link to the TechNet article describing this and their recommended solution.

Solution: Since the MDT Task Sequence template doesn’t contain a default “Restart to WinPE” step as mentioned in the TechNet article, I created a custom Restart Computer step shortly after my own custom HTA runs (Inside the Initialization node) of the Task Sequence.  Here is a shot of the conditions I am using:

image

Author: dhedges

I'm a Senior Client Systems Engineer specializing in OS Deployments and Automation using VBScript, PowerShell, MDT and SCCM. I enjoy working with technology and bending it to my will.

1 thought on “SCCM/MDT 2012 BUG: Deploying Windows XP via USB Fails”

Leave a Reply

